What is DevOps?

Here is a good article on the five key practices for what IBM considers DevOps. They are:

Plan, Track, and Version Everything
Dashboard Everything (my personal favorite, I am a big believer in transparency)
Automate Everything
Test Everything
Monitor and Audit Everything

Check out article for more details

Dan Toczala's Blog

Recently I took over as the manager of the Emerging Technologies team at IBM/Rational.  One of the Emerging Technologies that my team is supposed to focus on is the area of DevOps.  So now I have a small team that is focused on DevOps.  But what in the world is DevOps?  I thought that I knew what it was, but I figured that I would do a quick experiment to improve my understanding.  I decided to ask several different people for their definition of DevOps.  Surprise!!  I got back about as many different answers as people that I  asked.  (OK, I wasn’t surprised, but that is why I did the experiment in the first place)

“Big deal”, you may be thinking, “all you have done is to state the obvious”.  But the more that I thought about it, the more that it bothered me.  The goal of my team is…

View original post 614 more words

